31 Comments

Hello Editor - "Can I trust you to get behind what I want from my novel as a reading experience rather than prioritise the edit for the current popular book publishing environment?"

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

In a historical novel, if one of the characters who my protagonists meet is still alive, how do I get their permission to include them in my book?

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Question about POV. In the historical novel I plan to write, my two characters are very different: he is an ex-priest, an aristocrat and she is a peasant. I would love to oppose both POV on the same page, since they see the world so differently. How can I do this without head-hopping?

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

What is the best way to create tension in a novel?

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

What would be you top three pieces of advice for planning the edit of a first draft?

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Is the first book I write bound to be my ‘learning book’ and not be publishable, as I was once told, despite serious work and editing? (Ie, you have to have failed novels in your drawer before the good one happens.)

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Can you employ two different POVs (for example, 1st and 3rd person) in novels aimed at children 9 - 12 years of age?

Expand full comment

If you could only give a new writer three pieces of advice, what would they be?

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Any tips on how a novelist can incorporate into a story, a statement about human rights, an environmental or social issue, without patronising the reader or seeming as if you are standing on a soap box?

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

I've spent a lot of time ( and money) for professional assistance to get the story structure and the genres down right before editing my current memoir. Do editors pay attention to plot and build or do they just check grammar and style? I'm always a bit confused what I'm paying for. Thank you.

Expand full comment
Aug 10, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

In a children's novel, should you describe something in different ways throughout the story to avoid it sounding the same? (Example) Scenery, backdrop, painting.

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Please can you advise me? The novel I’ve been working on for quite a while has two intertwined stories, connected through happenstance, with some passage of time between them. Will this format work? It seemed to but now I’m wondering whether to split the tales, creating two novels and giving myself flexibility to add depth and breadth to both.

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

How do editors detect plagiarism?

Expand full comment

What advice would you give a failed 'panster' on how to settle on a proper premise and stakes? (There are so many options for a story... :) )

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Can you explain the different types of editor/editing processes available, so that I ensure I choose the right one?

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

If you want to learn about becoming an editor, what one book and what course would you recommend

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

I've always been slightly intimidated by hearing that 'real' writers are always at work every day. I am not. Inspiration comes in fits and starts. Should I be concerned?

Expand full comment
Aug 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

How do you choose a POV. And how do you stick to it?

Expand full comment

Is it just a job, status position or a labor of passion, love for the literary world?

Expand full comment

Are you looking for picture books about stammering or animal sounds?

Expand full comment

I love writing novels and have two complete, However, is there any point in approaching an agent when I cannot write psychological novels...even though I have read many...as they seem to still be the main acceptable content?

Expand full comment

Would you, as an editor or publisher, accept to read a self-published novel which is receiving four and five star ratings on Amazon and Goodreads?

Expand full comment
deletedAug 10, 2021Liked by Cornerstones
Comment deleted
Expand full comment