6 Comments
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

I have entered twice in the past, and have completed the required 50,000 words. The first one shortlisted in a novella competition and the second is now on submission to five agents of which one has reuested the full ms. I think it's a great way to stop procrastinating and getting the words on the page.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

I drafted my first YA novel during NANOWRIMO in 2005. So, 16 years and 4 full drafts later, plus a lot of in-between revisions...

It was a good way to get a ton of words out. 90,000 of them, in fact. And it's almost ready to submit now! But it sure wasn't at the end of November 2005.

Expand full comment
Nov 9, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Yes and no... I haven't done it for a few years and now find the website has changed such a lot, I'm not sure I'm getting the most out of it. I find it very confusing, so I'll just plug away with my writing.

Expand full comment
Nov 10, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Not this year - I am rather busy on other writing projects. I tried a couple of years ago but found the website very confusing and I was bombarded with e-mails every day.

Expand full comment

I'm not doing it, but it always strikes me as a really good community building exercise rather than a purely creative one.

Expand full comment

Have done it once and found it helpful in reading what people have to say.

Expand full comment