92 Comments
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

I really enjoy my writing and editing, although I find it alarming that even a short story can result in months of proof reading and re-reading, and then when I look at what I sent in . . . I throw my hands up and wonder where my brain was. At the moment though, I'm on the home straight for a first draft, the content of which has required a lot of research. When the novel is complete, I shall really miss the relationship I have had with it.

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Halfway through my edit 🤪

Expand full comment

OMG... Go4It Julie... I'm thow'n down my support for anyone in the edit process.... Ahhh!

Expand full comment

Trying to write a synopsis that doesn’t sound boring! Struggling and have put it aside hoping that I’ll be inspired after making dinner. Yep. Procrastinating.

Expand full comment
author

The three-act graph always helps us. Feel free to send it through if you need a fresh set of eyes, Sandi!

Expand full comment

Post it on here?

Expand full comment
author

You can email it to us at info@cornerstones.co.uk !

Expand full comment

Thanks for this, really appreciate your input but it’s for the Bath novel so sending it out tomorrow!

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Hi, I have really struggled with the synopsis for a long, long time, but I'm hoping that I finally produced something coherent. Hope it comes together for you.

Expand full comment

Thanks Yolanda. It’s such a useful tool as it focuses you on the story but getting it succinct and interesting is something else!

Expand full comment

Aww, they are the pits! Good luck!

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Over the last few weeks my life has been manic - and exciting. I've done quite a few BBC radio interviews about my first Cornish thriller Hidden Depths and this week BBC Radio Somerset ran extracts from the story on three consecutive nights. I now just need to finish my next novel The Echoing Shore. So much to do and never enough time to do it!

Expand full comment

That’s great Jason. I find it doesn’t matter how many hours you do, the writing just eats up the time! Congratulations to you on your BBC successes.

Expand full comment

Like we say in my line of work.... Noth'n like a slam'n & jam'm summer... Game On*

All the best Jason......

Expand full comment

Congratulations. That’s brilliant! Motivating us in.

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Trying to edit and doing better at procrastinating too!

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Finished my last edits today. Edited the book blurb as well and I’m still on deadline as I’m planning to selfpublish it in June.

Expand full comment

2 thumbs up & candle lit 4ya..... Way 2 Go!

Expand full comment

Thank you

Expand full comment

Good Luck with the self publishing Anita!

Expand full comment

Thank you :)

Expand full comment

All the best with it, Anita.

Expand full comment

Thank you :)

Expand full comment

Well done Anita!

Expand full comment

Thank you

Expand full comment

Hallo. I keep rewriting the first 10 pages, trying to manage that "get the reader immediately interested". I've got to the point that I can't move on until I'm convinced I – as a reader – would be immediately interested. And that's a vicious circle because the more I rewrite it, the less I manage to whip up some interest!

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

I just looked out a manuscript from 3 years ago as an agent was asking for the exact thing. It had 8 different beginnings. Now, with 3 years distance I can see beginning 2, is head and shoulders above the rest. I queried with beginning 8 which looking now, appears to be the worst of the lot, every word agonised over, and over written. It's crazy how it's so obvious now but didn't see it back then. If you have time - take a break - but a longer one than you think you need so you genuinely forget it.

Expand full comment

Exactly. It's the stuff that is overwritten and obsessed over that sounds the flattest. I think it's the imperfections that actually add heart and character to the writing. And often your first instincts are the best. With a bit of distance, it's often the first drafts that end up not sounding as bad as I thought.

Expand full comment

That happened with me, I thought my first chapter was so boring, nobody would read past it. When I got 65 chapters down the track, I then went back and viciously rewrote it. Hopefully now it's not so boring.

Expand full comment

I would leave it and write the rest of your novel, getting the flavour of the rest may make the beginning easier to create.

Expand full comment

I'm with you - I've been there. But you need to evict this obsessive perfectionist that lives inside your head; nothing will ever satisfy her. Have faith in yourself, move on, enjoy the pleasure of writing from scratch again. Good luck!

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Finished the first draft of book 1, sent it to friends and family for reading, before editing (or trying to)

Started the early draft of book 2, but need to regain some motivation to write more.

Books 3 to 5 mapped out

Expand full comment
author

Wow, sounds like you've mapped out the whole series! Very exciting.

Expand full comment

Wow! Just wow!

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Writing a novel in the sunshine, or at least as long as I can before the laptop overheats and sends me back into the gloom!

Expand full comment

My laptop's groaning and feel alarmingly warm. Giving it a rest after this.

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Hi everyone, I am about 3/4 through my WIP, a psychological thriller. I have a draft of a synopsis and query, and am feeling ok about everything. I'm finding the story is coming along really fast now I'm so close to the end. It worries me a bit. But, first draft. I'm sure the editing process will be change a lot. All in all, I enjoy writing and seeing the words create worlds on the page.

Expand full comment

Digesting editorial feedback on MS. Think it may entail massacre of the darlings but will wait and see. Have just completed 5 day online course on putting a query package togwther. Now revising pitch. So all go.

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Not sure when to stop editing :)

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Trying to DIY SOS one that doesn't fit any age or genre. (optimistic) But I've finished work for half term so my brain is free and I've promised myself a trip to a cafe and at least the pretence of writing something really interesting in an exercise book.

Expand full comment

"Trying to DIY SOS one that doesn't fit any age or genre".... OMG Cath....!! thats X#ߧ'n brave & think'n outta the box.... Whoa!.... in the sense, I do some crazy off the wall sh%x & work a totally high risk danger job.... BUT... I ain't that brave girl*... But then again, you have a gift/talent... Ahhh I'll just stand on sidelines here, with the fans & watch, let me know how it goes, what you learned & lets chat*..... I'm Lit'n a candle for ya... Godspeed* ;-) (go4it)... #I'm a fan

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Re-writing chapter 4 of book 4. The characters need to be more engaging, I think, but murder stories set in a very restricted place over a restricted time period are so hard... Admiring Agatha Christie more and more.

Expand full comment

She’s definitely inspirational. Amazing how relevant her writing skills are. How she was so aware.

Expand full comment
May 29, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Writing my own novels in between my work as an editor. Just finished the first draft of my 4th novel.

Expand full comment
May 29, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Slowed down by COVID, I'm now struggling with the last 3 chapters of my new book

Expand full comment
May 28, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

I generally write at my desk but my husband bought me a Kindle Scribe so I've been taking that out of the house to write al fresco (well, al Tim Hortons). It's a great excuse to unplug.

Expand full comment
May 28, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Trying to decide if the cosy crime novel I'm working on is something I should keep putting time and effort into. While I love it, it's such a departure from what I usually write I'm not sure it would be a good idea to publish it. I may be indulging in procrastination when I know there's novel more in line with my body of work which I could be working on, which is worrying.

Expand full comment
May 28, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Working on the rewrite. MC proving recalcitrant.

Expand full comment
May 28, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

I am rebuilding the manuscript and eyeing up the story lines to see if I've corrected the feedback notes. Some hard copy outside, in cafes, early mornings and some evenings. Thinking mostly about words. I'm not very fast as it.

Expand full comment
May 27, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Agree re synopsis Sandi - a real struggle- what to put in what to leave out, and restricted to a page - certainly forces you

to try to pull it all together in an intelligible way - and the more complicated the story the worse it is - have pared my novel down by 10,000 words - hasn’t made it any easier!

Expand full comment
May 27, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

I always find it difficult writing at this time of year, as the heat really gets to me and my office is right at the top of the house, in the warmest part of the building! At the moment I have a script for a graphic novel in with my agent, and I'm working on a new sci-fi novel for children which is coming along very slowly. The last thing I had out was EXILES, my YA-SF-murder-mystery, which is out with Spellbound Books and which I'm still promoting through bloggers, conventions, etc. I also do about 20-25 schools a year, but they've gone very quiet at the moment!

Expand full comment

We spend months and years writing, re-writing, improving a novel and its publishing fate arguably comes down to one page: the Query Letter. Very few submissions to agents get beyond it, to the synopsis/opening 50 pages. Wish I known how crucial the QL is years ago!

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Finished first year of Masters in Art History so will be thinking about a couple of short stories as a summer project.

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

I am still persevering with my novel which I have been working for a long time. A friend is editing it and once I have a reasonable draft I hope to send it to professional editor or even to an agent.

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

Still plugging away at children’s book and second book of poetry . I write indoors as too distracted outside x

Expand full comment

Yes, I have to be indoors, too.

Expand full comment

Indoors for me as well. There's too many neighbourly lawnmowers and outdoor home improvement hammering going on to contemplate writing in the great outdoors. Have to find a forest.

Expand full comment

I hate writing synopses! Doesn't everyone? If you put too much in the plot disappears in a thicket of scenes, but if you try to streamline you lose half the plot.

Expand full comment

Hit the nail on the head… oops cliche!

Expand full comment
May 30, 2023·edited May 30, 2023

A bit challenged! I'm uncovering a terrible procrastiation habit that is actually trying to protect me from criticism and old false beleifs. When I stand strong in the ground of my talent, because I have received excellent industry feedback from all sides, I do write indoors. It is a dream to write outdoors and in the shade of palm trees or greenery, but I find it hard to concentrate.

Expand full comment

Halfway through a novel from a woman's POV. New thing for me and not as tricky as I'd thought. In fact now that I have the general outline for the whole thing I'm starting to enjoy it. When it comes to sending it off my plan is to hide behind a female nom de plume and see if it makes any difference. Anyone here ever shifted sex? For purposes of selling a book I mean.

Expand full comment

Comments from a contest told me my synopsis and first page have made it. Hurrah! Made small edits to later introductory pages. Continue to tighten chapters, simplify syntax, and hone characters. Going well, though this time of year, gardening competes with writing.

Expand full comment

Struggling with the last 3 chapters of my book.

Expand full comment

Just finished draft 1 of novel in 6 months. It’s a real departure from everything ever written before - a modern spy thriller. Giving it a break before diving into redraft mode (which I always struggle with). Having fun writing flash fiction for now though. Entered 2 competitions with it.

Expand full comment

I write very little these days due to serious family health problems, however, I try to edit more.

Expand full comment

I know what you mean.

Expand full comment

I'm doing a re-write and edit, and don't know whether to make it into two books, or one long one, but I'm having fun doing it. The Synopsis is going to take some time to write and like Sandi says, how to write it so it doesn't sound boring. So me and the dog are just chipping away at it.

Expand full comment

Just received good feedback from beta readers. Modified the intro based on the feedback. Now looking for an English editor to change American English to Uk English. Tried switching computer from Us to Uk English but it missed a lot.

Expand full comment

Ya Good*

...focused, flow + work'n allot, love my job, gotta routine <kinda>, stay'n mentally & physically tuned, gotta good crew this season.... suffered a bit of a set back= had a death in the family (that took the mojo out for a while uffff)... but its all about the recovery & come back... Sooo I can gripe a little, but I cant complain......

+ won a cherry award from some editors...... That help fire me up & stay in the game........

https://www.abctales.com/story/kris/whale-hunt-chap-21

Got some weird approaches on the website, I cant tell whats real out there- 'Way to busy'

'safer here'

I'm come'n Team Cornerstones... save a place for me.... Even if I have to swim the Channel & throw a soaked copy of the MS on the door step.... ;-)..... I'll be there.....

Expand full comment

Good luck. Keep going.

Expand full comment

Thx Catherine (much appreciated) ... I've come to the point where; Fear & Soul Struggle is good, fear & soul struggle with bunch of other budding writers is better=allot to learn there...... & then I gotta get it across the channel & knee down, hand-up & turn it to over the Power Girlz @ Cornerstones... & go through the whole surgery & physio therapy process "ouch".... But at least I will have done it, failure is an option, & I'll have a (c) & (TM) asset + a polished product & the demographic #'s + vertical distrib-data are on target=know the market.... Could be worse... I take much more risk in my line of work.... All Good... Have a safe & happy summer Catherine...

Expand full comment

Don't disagree. Just tough knowing who to trust as to hand over £500 and not be impressed is painful in this climate

Expand full comment

After a few years of writing the middle of my WIP, I think I have finally cracked the opening this week. Not quite there, but I can see the light now.

Expand full comment
May 26, 2023·edited May 26, 2023

As always, I'm juggling several tasks. I'm typing up the editing changes to a teen sequel. I'm also painting the last few squirrel pictures for my next squirrel adventure book for 5 to 7s Lastly, I am writing my first dystopian teen novel. Busy but happy.

Expand full comment

My novel was taken on by a reasonably well-known, ambitious 'micropublisher' who have successfully published a few bona-fide, nonfiction books. They said I should share risk/costs & I agreed to this. Firstly, my manuscript was copy edited (poorly in my view) but I went along with this thinking I perhaps lacked knowledge of the publishing business. I was charged £850 for the copy editor's work. Then, the company's editor in chief said my novel wasn't ready for publication and forensically went through my first chapter, pointing out where I fell short. I am angry because surely this should have been the judgment at the start of the process so that I didn't pay £850. As am experienced writer, I can handle rejection. But surely this should have been made clear at the start so that I didn't waste my money and time. I stress that this is not a 'scam' publisher as might be found on Publishers Beware but I am wary of mentioning their name. Any reactions?

Expand full comment

I guess that going through your first chapter does take time and effort and the editor in chief was entitled to some payment. But they should have had a read of your manuscript first before you were enticed to pay out big money for the copy editing. I have self published on Amazon for free but it has been a steep learning curve: marketing is the biggest challenge in my experience. Good luck!

Expand full comment

I went with Penculture, and after paying them about $4,500 + I asked them for proof of what they had done. After 5 emails requesting the same, with no reply, I have given up. Please, give this mob a big miss.

Expand full comment

My novel was taken on by a reasonably well-known, ambitious 'micropublisher' who have successfully published a few bona-fide, nonfiction books. They said I should share risk/costs & I agreed to this. Firstly, my manuscript was copy edited (poorly in my view) but I went along with this thinking I perhaps lacked knowledge of the publishing business. I was charged £850 for the copy editor's work. Then, the company's editor in chief said my novel wasn't ready for publication and forensically went through my first chapter, pointing out where I fell short. I am angry because surely this should have been the judgment at the start of the process so that I didn't pay £850. As am experienced writer, I can handle rejection. But surely this should have been made clear at the start so that I didn't waste my money and time. I stress that this is not a 'scam' publisher as might be found on Publishers Beware but I am wary of mentioning their name. Any reactions?

Expand full comment

Written 40 odd 250-1500 children's stories. Now need to decide which ones are more commercially viable and get those edited. Friends and family love them but of course they would!! Basically need an hour having a coffee with someone who would be able say (these have potential but need x and these are not good enough so forget them!). Anyone know of such a person where I don't have to part with £500 or whatever?!

Expand full comment

If you want professional advice from a professional you have to pay for it. The people with their fingers on the pulse who can do what you require are usually agents, and they are far too busy to have free coffees with strangers. They are too busy have swanky coffee with publishers and negotiating 6 figure deals....

Expand full comment

Whilst I'm in the query trenches, waiting for an agent to snap up my fantasy debut novel, I've been stuck searching for FRESH ideas for a stunning sequel. Trying to write a synopsis, but discarded the first two. Now I'm letting novel ideas percolate for a bit – trying to breathe. Also gone back to writing poetry/short stories for a break.

Expand full comment

I've finished my middle grade story with Gina Blexill. Struggled a lot with the synopsis and cover letter but finally I think I got it. Now the daunting task of finding an agent. Maybe Cornerstone's can give advice.

Expand full comment

Just Released Adam my YA Dystopian adventure. Getting ready to Release Summer Coercion the third book in the Season Series.

Expand full comment

Hello Everyone,

I've been working on a novel with Cornerstones. That's on hold for the moment while I see something else through, but then I'll be returning to it. Synopses are the invention of the devil - good luck with it, Sandi.

Expand full comment

Thanks Michael. I keep hoping to get inspired by leaving it alone! 😂

Expand full comment

Sometimes that's a good idea - trying not to overthink it (easily said, I know).

Expand full comment

Back in the shed now the sun is shining. First time this year. Drastically editing one thing until distracted by shiny new idea.

Expand full comment

Stuck a bit on the plotting. 20,000 words marker. Have loads of scenes written it's the placement that's killing me!!!

Expand full comment

Try doing a cut and paste. That's what I do

Expand full comment

Have you read the book Save the Cat? I found it very helpful for putting the scenes into some semblance of order.

Expand full comment

Yep, trying to work my way through it.

Expand full comment