33 Comments

My life’s work ‘Grow where you are planted’ which I put aside to write the recent one- with you at present.

Expand full comment

Children's story called The Book of Nathaniel Barebones.' Slow work, weekends only. If you compared it to Portrait Artist of the Year I've got to the bit where the outline's been sketched and maybe half has been worked on in detail and one of the experts is looking over your shoulder with a question on their face or Stephen Mangan's come up for a joke. But I'm looking forward to editing.

Expand full comment

I'm a fan of your stuff, I may of said before, but I had to say it again*

Expand full comment

Thank you! And you sound busy yourself. Best of luck with all of it. Always good to get Cornerstones' help.

Expand full comment

ur welcome, well deserved, c-u bck @ abc.... yep, game on, as we say 4me..... Cheers Cat......

Expand full comment

Coincidentally, I returned to the first draft of my second novel today. My hero is getting entangled with the Russian mafia in the days when the Soviet Union was collapsing, among other things.

Expand full comment

I am returning to work on the first in a series of six children's novels for 7-9 year olds starting in a blended community of elves and big people. The core of the first book is an expedition to find the right place for a village just for the elves after one of the elves saved the life of the son of the big people mayor. Returning to the editing process after illness is tough and I find I have to dig my way back into it a little at a time. Has anyone else returned to their novel after a notable illness?

Expand full comment

33,000 words into an epic poem about hell.

"I am a Minotaur and blind, but mind, I was not born this way. I was not raised to be the bull before you. I still remember inwardly how many things did look and their beauty and their wonder as they were.

And I dare say that on my roads, I've seen with these here eyes, much more than many sighted saw with theirs. Diverse affairs and wild events as you would not believe and many that I wished I had not seen".

Expand full comment

I am working on picture book manuscripts for the Bath's writing competition.

Expand full comment
Nov 11, 2022·edited Nov 11, 2022

It takes courage for Fourteen year old goth, Laurie, to return to the house of the cult into which she was born. But drawn into the bizarre sci-fi narrative of The Foundation, she needs more courage to leave.

Teasing out a few plotty knots (or knotty plots?) before pulling a conclusion together.

Expand full comment

Sadly no time to spare for NaNo this year, I've always enjoyed the annual Lemming-run ...

Working on number 4 in a planned series of books for children, Standalones each set in a [different] Liverpool public park. 3 Published already, 4 more started - WiPs at various stages of [DE-]composition

Expand full comment

YA fantasy novel

Expand full comment

Morning all,

Whilst I haven't officially jumped on the Nano train this year, I've been outlining a contemporary, Adult/NA Fiction, sports story. A promising college basketball star (projected to be a lottery pick after leading his college team to the national championship title) suffers an eye injury and tries to disguise a sudden loss in vision as he prepares for the draft. His one shot at a big payday for his financially struggling family. His narrow-sighted desire to secure a multi-million dollar contract will cost him more than his sight though, as his future boss (the teams' frugile and brash owner) starts to wonder about his prize recruit's up-and-down effort on the court.

Expand full comment

Working on my fourth long piece, this time a piece of non-fiction about my youth in Ireland. Have written 20,000 words doing nanowrimo.

Expand full comment

Currently working on a R&R for a Christian publisher. The material consist of bible studies, prayers and liturgy. Just subbed a MS for a editorial report from CLC.

Expand full comment

I recently finished a novel about a Grenadian man's experiences living and working in England. I'm looking forward to working on the novel with a Cornerstones editor.

Expand full comment

I am busy writing biblical reflections and prayers for the Iona Community due to be published early next year and the Methodist Prayer Handbook 2023/24. I have just recently received my copy of the United Reformed Church anthology of Prayers for 2023 containing about 5 or 6 of my prayers and poems. Also just out on Amazon the latest Godspacelight international cookbook to which I also contributed a couple of recipes - one from the UK and one from Sweden taught to me by my Swedish penfriend of 60 years. I am also looking at possibilities next turn of turning my family history research into a novel so its all go. Who said retirement was quiet!

Expand full comment

I'm three years into my writing journey, begun as covid struck: to sell my B+B and become a writer instead. There's been lots of study, lots of practice, lots of research and maybe, jusy maybe, I'm getting there.

Historical Romance is my subject, deep on history as well as the romance, and what I hope will be the first book of a series is shaping up under various editorial onslaughts!

Expand full comment

I work on this . . . The Decline Of The West, brought to us all by Other People.

https://les7eb.substack.com/

Expand full comment

I am working on a grocery list.

Oh, and a job search.

My third novel has been on hold for the last six months because my brain refuses to work properly after writing cover letters and bios and tweaking profiles daily. I recently started a newsletter to help me get back into writing more frequently.

Expand full comment

Presently tidying up my linktree and the last technical edits on my transgenerational mental health memoir titled PINK ICESCREAM after it was read by an industry editor through your connections. Ready to get in touch with you asap!

Expand full comment

With Cornerstones help, The Carpenter and The Goat Herder is now out in the wild. For now, I'm working with the same editor to finish off a detective novel, The Proving.

Expand full comment

I'm a recently retired academic who has recently written a cli-fi novel which is with an agent (fingers crossed). Currently I'm doing background reading for a sequel.

Expand full comment

My current (unpublished) novel is 'Chimera' - a clifi/sci fi story. I am presently awaiting reaction from an agent (fingers crossed) and in the meantime I'm doing more background reading in the same genre and mulling through various ideas to develop the next book in the mini series.

Expand full comment

This year I've been working on creating NFTs that function like ebooks.

There is a lot of misinformation (and simply lack of information) regarding NFTs, but I see them as the future of online commerce, putting power back into the hands of creators. They already enable the use of royalties, so that if an ebook NFT I sell then sells again on the secondary market, I, the original creator, receive a percentage of this secondary transaction. It also enables me to send digital gifts (such as previews of future works, short stories in the same universe of the story, etc.) to people who already have my book. There are many possibilities, and while this technology is still in its infancy, there is already so, so much promise.

So, while I am still writing, I am also working with programmers to make it possible to publish ebooks as NFTs, which are readable right in your NFT wallet (program), with all the functions of a standard ereader.

That's what I've been working on, and I'm super excited to see it start to come to fruition.

Expand full comment

I am working mostly on new poems, also editing older ones, as currently the new novel I have started last summer has stuck to how it will be better in developing.

Expand full comment

A YA novel. A bit of a ghost story mixed with murder and humour. Having great fun with it. Chapter three is underway.

Expand full comment

Historical fiction on the Calusa Tribe in Florida, the Aztecs, and the Conquistadors. A fictional story of the Calusas traveling to Montezuma to try to convince him to join them to fight off the Spaniards.

Expand full comment

Gotta MS.... in the self editing phase.... trying to plan a time line & budget for editing.... (Helen, Ladies, hint, hint;) ?

+ got picked up on several mobile animated story apps in = emerging/vertical markets in some non ENG languages & cultures I never expected.

(amazing what the millennial/gen z publishing-apps & animators, programmers/CGI peep's are do'n out there)....

Helen* (& the Cornerstone pwr girlz)... Can we pls. talk?

I've come along ways since we last had dialog, I've got a bunch a current meta data sets/ demographics= 18yrs+ 65%+ woman Median Age 35-55 +++. Markets, emerging markets, culture(languages) etc.

MS-160k wds / est 320 pgs..........

I need like the pwr girl team to slice & dice it, rip it, shred it, groom it & sprinkle it with some angle/fairy dust from over there... Realizing- that data, those #'s will erode/slide i.e.

Hand-up, as a man, it needs the female touch.....(Fact- the data don't lie)........ It wasn't intended, totally unexpected, it just took off in that direction..............

Or let me ask it in another way Cornerstones.... Can you and your crew do a rescue for the rescuer? (in a near future sense)?

Just got called out for about 10days + - (SAR-Med region)... so if you message me; 'Chill'... I'll be back with ya......

Ref: Website- (ya I know that's gotta get cleaned up too)..............

https://www.thelifeguard.net/

Stories/stripped chapter versions:

https://www.abctales.com/user/kris

Enjoy your weekend all*

(K).........

Expand full comment
author

Hi Kris, thanks for your query! Feel free to email the office directly and we'll be happy to see how we can help (info@cornerstones.co.uk).

Expand full comment

Exploitng prose, film and narrative, on a series of essays.

My latest, 'I'll Have The Poet Instead', is bringing me much joy at the moment.

https://almeida-santos.com/2022/11/08/oh-waiter-ill-have-the-poet-instead/

Expand full comment

I am currently proof reading the author copy of Autumn Attack book two in the Season series. An urban fantasy being published by The Black Spring press group. As well as writing the blurb for the back cover of Adam the first in the Inherited Extinction series. A dystopian series I am publishing my self.

Expand full comment

Just about to launch into getting my head round the third volume of the Starra saga. Vol. 1 Starra was published in 2022, Vol 2. The Sands of Starra goes out in Jan 2023. All being well the final part is scheduled for publication early in 2024. Exhausting being a scribbler, innit?

Expand full comment