42 Comments
Dec 23, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

Just write again, to the best of my ability, whether anyone wants to read it or publish it or even reply to me or not, just for the pleasure of writing and to make each story as good as it can be. Happy Christmas, Happy New Year!

Expand full comment

Well done! For the new year this should be the wish for every good author .

Expand full comment

Thank you. It sometimes hard to remember the pleasure of just making something up, isn't it.

Expand full comment

So funny Catherine* (smile'n& laugh'n)..... I just spilled coffee all over the desk, keyboard, papers & notes = when I read your comment..... "(It sometimes hard to remember the pleasure of just making something up, isn't it)"..... a bit of gospel, words of wisdom (4sure;)..... AND.. very cool & true..... THX!....(luv_it)*

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

Hoping to knock my first draft into shape and get it out to competitions and agents by the end of the year. Wish me luck!

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

My writing goal in 2023 is first to publish my book entitled Shanghai Ablaze, a fictional story based on history during the thirties in China. Second, I would like to have my second book, Last supper in Xuan Wu Lake, be well edited. It is a love story taking place in the turbulent years of 1958-1963 in Nanjing, the ancient capital of China. The book is finished but my lovely wife, Gwenn Holler, a coauthor advises me to publish the first book first before sending out the second for editing. I think she is quite right. Third, I will start a third book, Adieu, Shanghai.

I am sure, Cornerstones will help me to accomplish this. Merry Christmas and Happy New Year to Helen and all members of Cornerstones!

Expand full comment

Good luck. They sound interesting.

Expand full comment

I aim to do more editing, and of course write, write, write.

Happy New Year to all.

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

Decide what to do with draft memoir. A large part is about Francis, whom I married in 2009, expecting we would grow old together. His autism and belligerence eroded me, so I saved what remained by leaving. Before I progress the memoir, I'm seeking a steer on the legal risks if this was published.

Expand full comment

Nasreen*... Totally understand = legal risk... when I started my project, I had encounters of warnings, nay sayers +++... (icky&ugly at times) but... my content is a political hot issue here in the EU..... Point is; got a legal opinion from a close friend.... that amounted to a disclaimer on the website; =

Inspired By Real Events:

The names, locations, rescues, recoveries, references to governments and law enforcement, organizations, companies, real persons, friends and family have been changed to protect the innocent, their privacy, anonymity, including any past or open, inquires & investigations that may be pending. The Story is Written as Fiction..... you can find disclaimers online, modify it for your needs, or strip some of mine out & use it as it suits you.... Once that's done, practically applied, it cost more for the someone to litigate it than defend it, UK laws are good at this, have faith.... Of course minding a few P&Q's .... But if you got a story to tell based on real events.... GO-4-IT.... dont let the ghost of the past shadow it.... Stay Strong*

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

With a friends help, I am improving part 1 of my book and want to submit it to an agency before the end of 2023.

Expand full comment
Dec 27, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

To reach a final version of a novel on which I'm working with a Cornerstones editor. But I agree with Catherine: to write for the enjoyment of it. Happy New Year to everyone.

Expand full comment

Resub non-fiction work to publisher in New Year. Revised MS based upon editorial assessment feedback. Would like to write more shorts this year. Only did two in 22. Most of all enjoy writing. Happy Christmas.

Expand full comment

In no particular order: Complete the editing of my novel, which is lkng overdue. Pull my shirt stories into a collection. Write more poems. Enter lots more comps. Cull material in my 'office', on my computer and master the mess that is my Gmail account. Toying with notion of starting a blog: SOB (Silly Old Bat) recounting the day to day idiocies I commit while thinking of something else. (Title is linked to Frank Richards' Bristow cartoon in Evening Standard long ago: anyone else remember that?) Merry Christmas, everyone.

Expand full comment
Dec 24, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

I'm aware and fully understand that nowadays literary agents look to build long-term relationships with their authors. My aim in 2023 is to show that a person in his late 50s, who has come late to writing, has the ability to pen more than one novel and can have a portfolio of books to make an investment in he, or she, worthwhile.

Expand full comment

I was 61 when I my first book was published by an independent publisher (not vanity or hybrid) but a real publisher! Book 2 came out at the end of last year and they are looking at whether to take book 3.

I also, nearly at the same time, had a YA trilogy accepted by another publisher. This will be followed by a stand-alone novel.

I've been writing for years, helped by Cornerstones through every tortuous step (thanks again, guys), so, believe and it can happen.

Expand full comment

Thank you for this. I have these words pinned above my desk.

I will need Cornerstones help again.

Expand full comment

That's brilliant! Good luck and keep truckin'.

Expand full comment
Dec 24, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

Almost There*.... <so close>... self editing= strip'n it, stay'n on course, hate'n it, luv'n it, cry'n with it, threw it around, at 1 point wanted to burn it, look'n in da mirror asking myself if I'm crazy, self doubt, fears & tears.... but.... then again it rides & glides & I gotta story to tell.... ufff... & then it goes over to Helen & da (A) team-pwr-edit-girlz..... so they can slice, dice it, structure it & resurrect it..... 2023... I'm com'n Cornerstones, save me a slot*

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

Finish my book! 😩

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

Rewriting my novel using the absolutely brilliant advice from Naomi Jones.

Merry Christmas to all you hard-workers at Cornerstones.

You make our dreams come true.

Angela x.

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

Get book two of the Nature series out.

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

Having written a few short stories I'm taking time out to do an MA in art history and using the time to think about doing something really distinctive rather than feed in to the already over crowded crime field. At least in its conventional senses.

Expand full comment
Jan 3, 2023Liked by Cornerstones

I submitted a novel to a publisher who agreed that the work was amusing and engaging. That will be £2800 they added. I am a 75 year old pensioner with no access to that sort of money. The novel told of the private lives of football players and staff of a football club within a frame of corruption in the 'beautiful game'. I think it would make a good tv series. How can Cornerstones help me? I have written six novels, a novelette and work of non-fiction. A happy New Year to all authors and good luck with your writing.

Expand full comment
Dec 28, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

I've written a letter to myself- what I hope to achieve in 2023. (World peace, maybe a bit ambitious.) Be kinder, more organized, more green, live in the moment and get my novel published. Can't see why not? Happy New Year.

Expand full comment
Dec 27, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

To reach a final version of a novel on which I'm working with a Cornerstones editor. But I also agree with Catherine: to write just for the pleasure of it. Happy New Year to everyone.

Expand full comment

Erratum. Corrigendum

Cartoonist was Frank Dickens not Richards. (SOB)

See what I mean about Silly Old Bat?

Expand full comment
Dec 23, 2022Liked by Cornerstones

I'm completely redraften my book and hoop to selfpublish it in 2023, seeing it as the year of magical starts! Happy New Year.

Expand full comment

Good luck. Magic is there if we look for it!

Expand full comment

To have my third psychological thriller accepted for publication.

To work on editing my YA trilogy ready for the first book's publication in August 2023.

To actually write book 3 of this trilogy...

To finish the first draft of my latest psychological thriller, edit it to within an inch of its life and then edit some more.

Expand full comment

Kick ass and take names writing on Substack. Short n sweet, baby.

###

Michael Mohr

‘Sincere American Writing’

https://michaelmohr.substack.com/

Expand full comment