21 Comments

I am currently working in short stories. I always loved the possibility to tell a complete story in few pages. I think it is the kind of genre which is challenging, not so easy, as it does not allow you to expand as in a novel, however, if it has a good result, it is very rewarding.

Expand full comment

Quirky. I don't think it's a genre but it's just the way it is.

Expand full comment

Well said. I agree.

Expand full comment

Always historical, but stick to the twentieth century where I’m most comfortable.

Expand full comment

I write for children. 3 picture books published. Am now working on a middle grade story as well as a couple of picture books text. When one wip isn't going so well I turn to one of the others. I read mostly fiction of all kinds

Expand full comment

Ok Team Cornerstones... Thanks for asking another mind bending, horizon expanding question that gives me, a rookie, another brain cramp... (in a good way) (smile).... So.. I read allot of genres. I'm learning allot. I have a story to tell, and reading other works/genres with out a doubt helps me define and describe my characters. So much so, that the influence from different genres, reflects back in opinion differences from Men vs. Woman. I hope that makes sense. For example this one. https://www.abctales.com/story/kris/bitch-back#comment-764611

Just a quick word up. Dont read this if you are easily offended. But there are allot of woman that relate to this character, that surprised me. Thx C-Stones*

Expand full comment

Out of six completed and one on the way, four are modern, female POV thrillers. It's my preferred reading and my preferred writing it turns out. But I did wildly diverge into a very long historical novel a few years ago. In retrospect I had to consider it a mistake since it was very time-consuming. I self published it on Amazon, which was also incredibly time-consuming. I think it's ok and I'm quite proud of it but realised that it is best to stick to your preferred genre. Apparently most readers do not step out of their comfort zone and you should use your precious writing time to work on building a following, who will not appreciate it if you produce something unexpected. That realisation is why my historical Troll Baby is written under the pseudonym Tatton Winter (feel free to check it out on Amazon).

Expand full comment

The process doesn't differ for me. My first published book, Stoning the Devil, was a linked collection of stories (literary fiction.) The forthcoming one, Our Parent Who Art in Heaven (Flame Books, 2022) is a satirical novel - wildly different, what agents call 'upmarket fiction', which seems to mean quality writing, but entertaining enough for the general public. (Like Waugh or the Amises.) The work-in-progress is a more serious satire (if that makes sense), along the lines of Iris Murdoch. But until they're finished, we never quite know what they'll turn into, do we? A bit like children, I've found.

Expand full comment

Action/Adventure, worldview maturation.

Expand full comment

Having flirted at some length with writing picture books for children and also YA - the latter being a historical sci-fi dystopian tale which didn't quite work - I now write only poetry. This tends to be in various forms, currently often prose poetry, and I am working towards a first collection with illustrations. My reading habits include anything historical and lyrical in style, writers such as Madeline Miller ('Song of Achilles') but I also enjoy the clarity (and emotional clarity) of writers such as Kazuo Ishiguru and am currently finishing 'Klara and the Sun'.

Expand full comment

My published books so far have been children’s picture books—14 by a traditional small publisher and one—my most recent children’s book, “A Whale Of A Tale”—is self published. All are written in rhyme.

I have two other writing projects, which might be called works in progress. One is Poetry targeted at an older audience. The second is a long-suffering international spy novel, also for an adult audience.

Expand full comment

Women's fiction. I read different genres but this is my favourite.

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2022·edited Apr 8, 2022

Historical novels are my preference but it takes my fancy in terms of specific genre. My Swedish viking novel, I am Swedish but English has been my main language for 40 years, will be released in Stockholm in two months. My sixth novel, Sabine's Diary, takes place in Berlin at the end of the war and is about a fanatic Nazi woman changing her views. I am now looking for an agent. There is no difference in the research or writing. I speak English, Swedish, Norwegian and German. It is all the same.

Expand full comment

My WIP is dystopian contemporary YA .My last series was YA urban fantasy. One written in third person the other in first

Expand full comment

Childrens fiction & a fictional novel set in the Victorian era where the characters resemble my own family.

Yes, both different in their own way, but give me a nostalgic place in the past.

Expand full comment

Adult women’s fiction 😊

Expand full comment
Apr 8, 2022·edited Apr 8, 2022

Picture book, chapter book, memoir / personal narrative, novel, short story, non-fiction (children), Asian literature | Definitely, the writing process differs. Some genres have recommended word counts, language styles & tones, and structures. The amount of work one puts into narrative voices, pacing, world building, details, and research quantity vary accordingly to the genres too. Working on the memoir / personal narrative is akin to walking on an emotional tightrope - this is absent from a thriller, a horror, or an adventure novel.

Expand full comment

My day at Cornerstones many years ago helped me to identify my genre. I discovered that I was best to stick with what I know which as a lay preacher is on Biblical themes and I write regularly for the Iona Community Wild Goose publications apart from one foray into historical non fiction - a short biography called Harry Hotspur, Border Knight which sells well particularly in Alnwick , Northumberland where he was brought up (as I was). Thanks Cornerstones for setting me on the right path.

Expand full comment

Two novels completed, one semi-historical (1950s) and the other present day

Expand full comment

Fantasy. My current series is futuristic fantasy. The next will be more generalised fantasy.

Expand full comment

I write in one genera

Expand full comment