16 Comments
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

I always read Dickens this time of year. Normally on Christmas Day I will reread either The Chimes or A Christmas Carol, and I may read A Tale of Two Cities in December.

This year I am also thinking of rereading an old thriller of mine, which Penguin published seven years back (The Christmas Killer, by Jim Gallows). I haven't read it since I wrote it about fifteen years back.

Expand full comment

Dickens; A Christmas Carol.. I never get tired of it this time of year. I cant count the many times, read, theaters from the high street to local school plays, film remakes, etc. Inspired me it has in many ways.

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Books for adults:

- Off Centre (by Haresh Sharma)

- A Song Everlasting (by Ha Jin)

- Yinka, Where Is Your Huzband? (by Lizzie Damilola Blackburn)

- Things We Lost to the Water (by Eric Nguyen)

- If I Had Your Face (by Frances Cha)

- Black Water Sister (by Zen Cho)

- One Italian Summer (by Rebecca Serle)

- Speak, Okinawa (by Elizabeth Miki Brina)

Picture Books:

- Different: A Great Thing to Be! (by Heather Avis and Sarah Mensinga)

- Milo Imagines the World (by Matt de la Pena and Christian Robinson)

- The Big Umbrella (by Amy June Bates and Juniper Bates)

- The Invisible Boy (by Trudy Ludwig and Patrice Barton)

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Helen Bryant on editing

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Good answer! Top of the class. Two authors though.

Expand full comment

Kathryn Price

Expand full comment

Proud to create

Expand full comment

Never Vanquished!

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Cook Books... several = Alpine/Alpina traditional Romanisch .. Thats my theme for Xmas. It inspires my writing, kinda like an end to end creative process, living in inspirational moments with a big picture plan & adjusting & tuning on the fly.... My wife, has been relieved of all kitchen duties. (canceled)= sorry ladies if that came across discriminatory, mans gotta do what a mans gotta do. Shes been reassigned to wine quality control + seasons decor duties & assorted shopping errands. She still has a small section in the kitchen, when she feels inspired... hmm(?). No bravado intended, the kitchen + all the hardware is mine. New cook books, with some creative writing mixed in there for a seasoned, creative Holiday season.... All Good*

Expand full comment
Dec 8, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Hi all from Down Under, I’ve just started reading The Book You Were Born To Write by Kelly Notaras. Not new but new to my world. Just finished Chillpreneur which is about empowering women with financial freedom. Inspiring! Happy Christmas. 🎄

Expand full comment
Dec 7, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

I am looking forward to a jolly Christmas with Bertie, Jeeves, Gussie, Honoria and Stinker Pinker. Then down to earth with a Stuart Macbride thriller and, if Santa received the message, Andrew Roberts biography of George III.

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

Father Christmas and his Animal Crew!

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

The Lyrics, Paul McCartney. Looks fabulously and expensively produced. And he needs the money...

Expand full comment

As I have no money for Christmas prezzies, I have invested in making Christmas personal and intimate by revising and publishing three of my stage plays which many years ago enjoyed success in their own right and are more relevant today, as they treat with: our right to inherit the world / the lack of empathy for grief / and our failing humanity.

Expand full comment
Dec 6, 2021Liked by Cornerstones

I'm really looking forward to "An Editor's Burial", a selection of journalism that inspired the latest Wes Anderson film, 'The French Dispatch' which was fabulous. Even better than The Grand Budapest Hotel.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=TcPk2p0Zaw4

Expand full comment